Please, accept cookies in order to load the content.

The symposium is set up as a dialogue between different kinds of making practices and aims to develop new perspective on their critical potential.

In the NWO-funded research project ‘Bridging Art, Design and Technology through Critical Making’, the consortium investigates how Critical Making - a notion originally developed in the context of social research, design and technology - can be adopted and developed in relation to artistic research and (post)critical theory.


Thursday 9 May 2019

9.30 Welcome
10.00 Introduction Critical Making Consortium: Klaas Kuitenbrouwer (Het Nieuwe Instituut), Janneke Wesseling, Lucas Evers (Waag)
10.30 Presentation: Florian Cramer
11.15 Coffee break
11.30 Presentations:, Constant (Femke Snelting) followed by a discussion
12.45 Lunch break
13.45 Presentations: Shailoh Phillips, Pia Louwerens
14.45 Presentation: Dani Ploeger
15.45 Coffee break
16.00 Public discussion: ‘Challenges and Consequences of Critical Making Now’
17.00 Drinks

Friday 10 May 2019

9.30 Welcome
10.00 Introduction on Critical Making: Lucas Evers (Waag), Klaas Kuitenbrouwer (Het Nieuwe Instituut), Marie-José Sondeijker (West)
10.30 Presentations: Frans-Willem Korsten & ginger coons
11.30 Coffee break
11.45 Presentation: Ramon Amaro
12.15 Presentation: Anja Groten
12.45 Lunch break
13.45 Book presentation: Letizia Chiappini, Loes Bogers: The Critical Making Reader
14.00 Workshops:

  • Hackers & Designers with dianaband
  • Ramon Amaro
  • Thalia Hoffman
  • Pia Louwerens

16.00 Public discussion & wrap up
17.00 Drinks


Confirmed speakers include Ramon Amaro, Liesbeth Bik, Loes Bogers, Letizia Chiappini, Ginger Coons, Florian Cramer,, Anja Groten, Frans-Willem Korsten, Pia Louwerens, Ulrike Möntmann, Shailoh Phillips, Dani Ploeger, Femke Snelting, Janneke Wesseling, moderation by Klaas Kuitenbrouwer.


PhDArts / ACPA, Creating 010, Waag Society, West Den Haag.


West Den Haag
Lange Voorhout 102
The Hague

Delany Boutkan, Marten Kuijpers, Klaas Kuitenbrouwer, Setareh Noorani
Alex Walker